Books / Reading

To Be Read- Books Galore

Ever since the moment in first grade when those marks on paper became decipherable and began speaking to me, revealing the stories, the  hopes, the dreams, that were hidden in printing, I have loved books and reading. I read and reread every book on my parent’s bookshelf, until many of the characters became as living, breathing, talking people whose entire life story I could recite. My options increased when my parents allowed me to use some of my own money to buy books to supplement those already on our shelves.  The local library further expanded my horizens, for there I could try books for which  I was not willing to lay out money. In my quest for knowledge and experience, I devoured every book I could get my hands on.

As a young child I would reread books multiple times. Now I don’t have that luxury. There are so many books to read; so many that I am determined to devour within the short span of life.  I have an urgency to move on to the vast stacks that are still waiting for  me. So much to read, so little time…

Titles that are currently waiting for me include:

Cry, The Beloved Counry, by Alan Paton

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, by James Joyce

Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Rebel With a Cause, by Franklin Graham

The Wind in the Willows, by Kenneth Grahame

The Martian Chronicles, by Ray Bradbury

The Diary of a Madman, by Nikolai Gogol

Letters to Karen, by Charlie W. Shedd

The Cost of Discipleship, by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Lost in the Barrens, by Farley Mowat

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carroll

The Old Curiosity Shop, by Charles Dickens

Teaching as a Subversive Activity, by Neil Postman and Charles Weingartner

The Ethics of Smuggling, by Brother Andrew

There are probably a few more on my shelves that I have not yet read, but this represents my to-be-read stack for the moment. Of course, it is likely to grow taller still each time that I enter a bookshop, for I have not learned to resist the pleasure of finding a book for which I have been looking for some time, nor am I able to resist the temptation to purchase classics that I remember from childhood or have heard about from others.

There is one book however, that will not be making it onto my have-read or my to-be-read shelves any time soon. Time is precious… I will not be reading Shades of Grey!

2 thoughts on “To Be Read- Books Galore

  1. Some good books in your to read list. Some I’ve read, such as Crime and Punishment:
    http://bookshq.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/crime-and-punishment-fyodor-dostoevsky/
    and some that are also on my to read list such as Cry, the Beloved Country and some I’ve never heard of. I’m always intrigued by other peoples reading lists/challenges. At last count, I have 50+ books on my to read soon list, and a further 50+ to read further down the line! No matter how much I read, the list never seems to get shorter!

    • +1 for the 50+ books on the to-be-read list! My shelf never seems to get emptier; despite the fact that I often read more than one book per week… I probably never will truly catch up, but that does not stop me from trying!

Leave a Reply

