Uncategorized

Discovery: I Love Blogging!

When I first started blogging, it was because I wanted to have an easily accessible way to post papers for classmates to read. As it turned out, I have not used my blog for that purpose, although I did post one paper that was written for a Sociology project. Instead I have been posting on random topics, though always  coming back to my passions of education, travel, writing and faith. To my surprise, blogging turned out to be a lot of fun.

Blogging successfully requires both writing well and establishing  connections with your readers. I am discovering that I love the challenge of writing for a tremendously wide audience, potentially spanning the world. The connections that I establish with people living around the world reinforces my belief that humans everywhere are more alike than different.

Almost every time I log in, there are a few more views showing up in my stats. And if I am really having a wonderfully splendiferous day, there may actually be a comment or a new follower. I think I could get addicted to this! So keep watchin’, because the posts will keep comin’. I would write even if no one read my posts, but knowing that I actually have an audience (however small) really gets the blogger spirit rolling.

And that connection with an audience may be the thing that keeps the online community growing. With Internet access, it is posssible to connect with readers from all over the globe. I get a little thrill when I see that bloggers from Hong Kong, India, and Italy are reading the words written by a small-town country girl from the Eastern U. S. We are a community, with our human-ness ( and Internet access!) binding us together.

Leave a Reply

