Uncategorized

New Year’s Un-Resolution

This is the traditional time to pontificate solemn vows and magnificent resolutions to be marvelously performed in the upcoming twelvemonth. New Year, new you; this is the year that I am going to get thin, fit and fiscally responsible….this is the year when I am going to become kind , loving and forgiving, the year when I am going to be and do all that I have so far failed to do and be.

OK. So that was sarcastic and tongue-in-cheek. In all seriousness, I do dislike the tradition of setting unreachable goals for the new year, especially if those happen to be the same as the one’s we’ve just failed to keep in the past year. That kind of deliberate setting up for failure holds no appeal.

So. This year I have made a resolution to set no grand plans for remaking my schedule, my body or my relationships. No gym memberships,no wardrobe overhaul, no grimly allotted budget. No resolutions to be nicer to family (or to learn how to stand up to them and say NO!) Instead, I am making a New Year’s Un- Resolution.

Which is to say that I do most solemnly vow that this is the year in which I will not make a New Year’s Resolution at all, but will continue to work on the same long-term goals that I have been working on for the past several years.Being an over-achiever comes naturally to me, so I delight in setting serious long-term goals ( and reaching them!). I am not against setting goals and shooting high. What I dislike is reserving the goal-setting for the first few days of the year and then spending the next twelve-month losing a battle entered rather half-heartedly for form’s sake.

In 2013, I will continue to study heartily, to perform at the highest level of which I am capable. I will strive to keep up my reputation at work: kind-hearted, efficient, tactful and always willing to help where needed. I will strive to keep on improving my communications skills, whether with teachers, classmates, co-workers, supervisors, friends or family. I will continue to improve my budgeting  and frugal shopping skills. Spiritually and emotionally, I will continue in, and attempt to improve, a closeness to my Creator and my Savior. I will be the best that I can be, so help me God.

The point that I am making here is that I am not making any new resolutions this year– with the possible exception of the resolve to make no New Year’s Resolution! Everything that I intend to attempt this year is a continuation of what had already been begun. My New Year’s Un-Resolution is to be farther along the path at the end of the year than I am now.

One thought on “New Year’s Un-Resolution

  1. I have made many new year’s resolutions and not stuck to them in the past as well. This year, I prayed about what God wanted me to work on or change in the upcoming year. I feel like with His help, I will be successful. I will be reading the Word through cover to cover again as well as spending more time in prayer. Blessings to you in 2013!

Leave a Reply

