Faith / Nursing

Salts, K-riders, and Proof of Intelligent Design

I’m in the middle of the nursing school learning frenzy, and I spent a portion of my ‘free’ time at work–which consisted of watching a patient who needed a protective sitter–with my Med/Surg nursing text, attempting to figure out the importance and relationship between the various cations and anions that make up the fluids and salts that we call electrolytes.
What I learned–or rather, was reminded of– is just how fearfully and wonderfully the human body is created. Who but God could design such an amazing system? Who but he could implement it? And most amazingly of all, it works perfectly the majority of the time…I certainly don’t spend a lot of time worrying about the electrolyte balance in my body, although even a small imbalance could cause me to become unresponsive, maniac, or dead. Salts and K-riders may be crucial portions of nursing science and practice, but I also found them an unexpected source of confirmation for a controversial conviction.

“I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well” (Psalm 139:14 King James Version).

Leave a Reply

